Going for the Green

Although I know some freelancers who do green writing, I’ve not yet made the move into those markets. Despite that, I was very much interested in an article by Michelle Trehy, a Brookline, MA freelancer, in the March issue of The Writer. (I know it’s April already, but I just got around to reading the March issue last night).

In “‘Green’ Markets Need Fresh Ideas,” Trehy calls the green market one of the strongest markets today, covering as it does climate change, overuse of natural resources, pollution and other hot topics, as well as green vacations, hybrid cars, and organic foods. She says that many of the green publications are at least 50 percent freelance written. I’m always pleased when other writers point out a wide-open market for freelancers.

Trehy zeros in on ways to learn the scope of the market for green articles, not just for green publications, but also for home, design, architecture and parenting magazines and smaller, close-to-home publications. Increasingly, many publications are offering articles and even whole sections devoted to helping readers live in environmentally friendly ways.

She includes detailed market information for these publications: Conscious Choice, Dwell, E/The Environmental Magazine, Earth Island Journal, Eco-Structure and The Polishing Stone.

Inasmuch as today is April Fool’s Day, it occurred to me that I’d be foolish indeed to overlook such a growing market. So I’m going for the green. Michelle’s excellent article has given me the push I need to move out of the past and into the present. I’ll keep pitching to my favorite, dependable markets, of course, but I’ll also be on the lookout for green ideas and markets where I can pitch green articles.

Please leave a comment
© 2008 by Laverne Daley
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
TAGS:
,
,
,

3 Comments on “Going for the Green”

  1. Peggy says:

    I did try Plenty and didn’t get a response. That’s their way of saying no. (See guidelines.) To me, it’s so much easier to blog than send out queries all the time.

    I gained a new blog at b5media — Junk Creation http://www.junkcreation.com
    It’s about reuse of junk. It’s a green blog, but focusing more on the reuse issue.

    Hope you land a great green article.

  2. ldaley says:

    I visited junkcreation, Peggy. Looks to be a very helpful blog. I’ll be coming back often.

  3. Peggy says:

    Thanks Laverne.


Leave a Reply

