Writers Inspiring Writers

Last night, I ordered a copy of The Renegade Writer by Linda Formichelli and Diana Burrell. I’ve been wanting to read that book since it came out and when the book arrives in four days, I plan to do just that. Publishers Weekly called the book an excellent choice for both working and would-be writers, so I know it will be helpful in my freelancing efforts.

I’ve been enjoying Linda’s articles for many moons and, although I’ve not yet read Diana’s work, I hope to be able to do so soon. She’s a prolific freelancer whose work has appeared in Parenting, Family Circle, Self, Saveur, Psychology Today and other publications.

Did you see Linda’s multiple bylines in the August issue of Writer’s Digest? She wrote one article about how self-employed writers can find health care coverage, plus two interview articles about the unique spaces where writers Richard Adams Carey and Lisa Gardner find inspiration for their writing. (Carey’s work includes Raven’s Children: An Alaskan Culture at Twilight; Against the Tide: The Fate of the New England Fisherman, and The Philosopher Fish: Sturgeon, Caviar, and the Geography of Desire. Gardner has published 22 novels, including Game and Hide).

I’ve long been a fan of books and articles about writing. Soon after my first story was published (The Cookie Caper in Children’s Playmate Magazine), I began reading my way through the entire writing section of the local library. Then I started haunting the magazine section of every bookseller in Memphis, snapping up any and all writing publications I could find. I still do that today. Not only do I enjoy reading about writers and writing, I also draw inspiration from those articles. I’ve learned the craft from them. They have helped me become more productive and, I think, a better writer.

I’m sure I’ll also be inspired by what Linda and Diana have written in The Renegade Writer. And I’m equally sure I’ll want to read their follow-up book, The Renegade Writer’s Query Letters That Rock.

Please leave a comment.

©2007 by Laverne Daley
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
,
,
,

Leave a Reply

